Zambia to serve on UNESCO committee

 Zambia to serve on UNESCO committee

Zambia has been elected to serve on the UNESCO World Heritage Committee for a period of four (4) years commencing 2021 to 2025.

The election by the UNESCO Member States took place at the just ended 23rd session of the General Assembly of States Parties to the World Heritage Convention in Paris, France, at UNESCO Headquarters.

Zambia’s Ambassador to France and Permanent Delegate to UNESCO Dr Christine Sata, Heritage and Conservation Experts, Mr Crollins Chongo Chipote and Mr Kagosi Mwamulowe will serve as country representatives on the Committee.

The tightly contested election attracted eight , which were Antigua and Barbuda, Barbados, Belgium, Colombia, Mongolia, Qatar, Rwanda, all competing for four 4 seats.

Zambia got 100 votes to secure the third slot behind Belgium who pulled 103 Votes, Rwanda with 90 Votes, and Qatar earning the first slot with 114 votes.

The World Heritage Committee is responsible for the implementation of the World Heritage Convention and takes very important decisions.

The Committee also defines the use of the World Heritage Fund and allocates financial assistance upon requests from States Parties and approves whether a property could be inscribed on the World Heritage List or not.

Zambia only has one property on the UNESCO World Heritage List, the Victoria Falls and earning a place on the Committee means that the country would leverage on the World Heritage Platform to showcase and market Zambia’s Natural and Cultural Heritage.

The General Assembly meets once every two years during the ordinary session of the General Conference of UNESCO to elect the members of the World Heritage Committee, to examine the statement of accounts of the World Heritage Fund and to decide on major policy issues.

Zambia will be serving on the Committee for the first time since ratifying the World Heritage Convention in 1984 close to 40years ago.

Issued by:

This is according to a statement issued by the First Secretary-Press at the UNESCO Permanent Delegation Yande Musonda.