Nathan Chanda happily steps aside, backs Bernard Zulu

 Nathan Chanda happily steps aside, backs Bernard Zulu

PF Copperbelt Provincial Chairperson Nathan Chanda has welcomed the decision taken by Party Secretary General Davies Mwila for all PF members holding party positions to step aside if they want to contest on any position.

And Mr Chanda has backed Bernard Zulu to run the PF ship on the Copperbelt as acting Provincial Chairperson in his absence during the process.

Speaking in Ndola today, Mr Chanda said the decision taken PF SG will create a fair and level playing field for all candidates applying to stand on PF ticket.

He has called on all structures in the province to give maximum support to Mr  Zulu, the acting provincial chairperson for the good of the party and give more votes to the President and all PF candidates in the general elections because the party is bigger than individuals.

“I pledge to work and support Mr Zulu. As an aspiring candidate, I will not leave stones unturned until Copperbelt gives maximum votes to our Presidential candidate come August 2021.

“My loyalty is to President Edgar Lungu and the PF party with its Leadership. PF Party has shown its commitment to being the political party with the highest democratic standards in Zambia,” he said.

Mr Chanda who is Luanshya Mayor is aspiring for Roan Constituency in Luanshya on PF ticket.

The directive is contained in a circular no. 003-003/2021 dated 9th March 2021, and signed by the PF Party Secretary General to all Party All Party structure Chairpersons reads;

“I wish to inform you that all those that are holding party office from the Ward to the Province and wishes to contest the forthcoming General Elections either as Councillor, Member of Parliament, Mayor and/ or Council Chairperson have been directed to step aside on temporal basis until after the General Elections.” stated part of the Circular.

The PF Secretary General has further informed the leaders that the Party President has therefore, appointed the following to act as Provincial Chairpersons on temporal basis.

1) Bernard Zulu – Copperbelt Province
2) Simon Lwando – Luapula Province
3) Alexander Miti – Eastern Province
4) Glen Chingumbe Kalimbwe – Western Province
5) Justine Mutale – Muchinga Province
6) Kenneth Simfukwe Mulwanda – Central Province

The Independent Observer

John Sakala is a Journalist yearning for independent journalism