Mayor Sampa constitutes new committees

Lusaka Mayor Miles Sampa has constituted new Standing committees of the Council.

Mr Sampa said the mandate of the previous committees ended in December 2017, Cholera outbreak and the subsequent demise of late Mayor Mr Wilson Kalumba in May this year, the process was delayed.

He said time to constitute committees to steer the Council forward has come and named the committee chairpersons and vice chairpersons as follows:

The Mayor has also appointed Councillor Humphrey Kapapula of Lubwa 15 in Lusaka Central Constituency as Chief Whip taking over from Councillor Mwitwa.

Mr Sampa has appealed to all Councillors to accord the Chief Whip and new committee chairpersons the much needed support to foster unity as a group.

Finance, Valuation and Commercial Undertakings Committee – the new chairperson is Councillor Sylvester Mulenga of Munali Ward 33 in Munali Constituency. He will be assisted Councillor Kelvin Kaunda from Mwembeshi Ward 27 in Matero Constituency.

The Human Resources and Administration Committee will be led Councillor Anne Chinyanta of Matero Ward 28 in Matero Constituency. She will be deputised Councillor Joseph Tamba of Raphael Chota Ward 22 in Mandevu Constituency.

Councillor Bupe Mulenga from Munkolo Ward 12 in Kanyama Constituency will head the Planning and Information Systems Committee while her deputy will be Councillor Watson Mtonga of Mtendere Ward 30 in Munali Constituency.

The Engineering and Infrastructure Committee will be chaired Councillor Adrian Banda of Ngwerere Ward 19 in Mandevu Constituency and will be deputised Councillor Smart Mwitwa from Chakunkula Ward 32 in Munali Constituency.

Community Development and Social Services committee will be chaired Councillor Muhammed Mutete of Lilayi Ward four (4) in Chawama Constituency. His deputy will be Councillor Patrick Salubusa of Kapwepwe Ward 25 in Matero Constituency.

Councillor Christopher Shakafuswa is the new chairperson for the Education Services Committee and his deputy will be Councillor Kasongo Chomba of Kalingalinga Ward 31 in Munali Constituency.

The Health Services Committee will be headed Councillor George Daka of Independence Ward 14 in Lusaka Central Constituency, and he will be deputised Councillor Teddy Mwaba, of Justin Kabwe Ward 21 in Mandevu Constituency.

The Agriculture, Environment and National Resources Committee will be headed Councillor Patrick Mwansa of Kabulonga Ward 16 in Lusaka Central and he will be deputised Councillor Moses Bwalya from Kamwala Ward Five (5) in Kabwata Constituency.

Councillor Tasila Lungu of Nkoloma Ward One (1) in Chawama Constituency will lead the Legal Services Committee and will be deputised Councillor Longa Chiboboka of Kabwata Ward Six (6) in Kabwata Constituency.

And the Audit Committee will be chaired Councillor Jonas Phiri of Kamulanga Ward Nine (9) in Kabwata Constituency and will be deputised Councillor Kafula Mutale of John Howard Ward Three (3) of Chawama Constituency.

The Independent Observer

John Sakala is a Journalist yearning for independent journalism

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: