Elliot Kampukesa is Nchanga Rangers Player of the year

 Elliot Kampukesa is Nchanga Rangers Player of the year

By Staff Writer
Nchanga Rangers Striker Elliot Kampukesa has been awarded as the Club’s Player of the year.

The Kasempa-born Zambia Under-20 striker also walked away with another award as Nchanga Rangers joint top scorer with seven goals of the league which was ended abruptly due to the outbreak of Coronavirus.

He was joint top scorer with a Ghanaian striker James Kwame Abban.

Kampukesa, a COSAFA cup gold medalist is a pure Nchanga Rangers product that has graduated from the junior team into both Rangers Senior team and under-20 national team.

Speaking during the award ceremony at Nchanga Golf Club last night, Nchanga Rangers president Patson Nyirenda said his team will remain resilient in order to comeback into super division and then focus on playing continental football.

Bubbling with confidence, Nyirenda said a journey of a thousand miles begins with a step and among the steps are the awarding of players and procurement of home, away and training jerseys for players from Hummel in the United Kingdom.

He said Nchanga Rangers Executive had refurbished several sections of the Nchanga Stadium including the VIP stand, Club house, Board room and one of the Grand stands in phase one of the rehabilitations.

He said despite many challenges at Nchanga Rangers, the good news is that more partners have come on board to partner with Konkola Copper Mines to financially support the team.

At the ceremony, JCHX and MMS handed over US $15, 000 cheque and GRN handed over $7, 500. Reliant Mining and Construction recently handed over $10, 000 to the Club.

Club Captain Gift Phiri thanked Nchanga Rangers Executive and KCM for the gesture to the players meant to motivate them.

Phiri said the new executive has players’ welfare at heart and the players will put in everything to win promotion into the super division.

Others that were awarded were the two goalkeepers Richard Nyirenda and Flobby Mashakalati (COSAFA Under-20 winner in 2019) as most improved and most disciplined respectively.

The Club Captain Phiri walked away with most consistent while midfielder Isaac Mwanza got the President’s award.


The Independent Observer


John Sakala is a Journalist yearning for independent journalism

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.