ECZ to commence continuous voter registration

 ECZ to commence continuous voter registration

The Electoral Commission of Zambia (ECZ) will start conducting the Continuous Registration of Voters on June 1st, 2022.

The Commission will implement the continuous voter registration exercise in ten Districts and progressively to all the districts across the Country.

The Commission said the Ten Districts are Choma, Mongu, Solwezi, Kasama, Kabwe, Lusaka, Ndola, Mansa, Chipata and Chinsali, and each district will have a Registration Centre.

According to the Constitution of Zambia -Amendment- Act Number two of 2016, Article 46 provides for eligible citizens to register as voters.

It states that, a citizen who has attained the age of eighteen years is entitled to be registered as a voter and vote in an election by secret ballot.

Section Seven of the Electoral Process Act Number 35 of 2016 mandates the Commission to conduct Continuous Voter Registration