ECZ sets January 20th for Kabwata by-elections

 ECZ sets January 20th for Kabwata by-elections

The Electoral Commission of Zambia (ECZ) has set January 20, 2022 as the date for
Kabwata Constituency Parliamentary by-election in Lusaka.

The Commission has also set the two Local Government Ward by-elections in Liangati Ward of Senanga Town Council in Western Province and Sokontwe Ward, Milenge in Luapula Province on the same date.

ECZ Corporate Affairs Manager Patricia Luhanga said in a statement that the nominations for the by-elections will be held on December 28, 2021.

The Electoral Commission of Zambi (ECZ) Elections in Kabwata Constituency has been necessitated following the death of United Party for National Development (UPND) Member of Parliament Levy Mkandawire who died on November 18, 2021.

Ms Luhanga said the vacancy in Liangati Ward follows the death of UPND Councillor Mwangala Sililo and the resignations of Independent Councillor Vincent Kunda in Sontwe ward.

Ms Luhanga said aspiring candidates should lodge completed and attested statutory declaration and nomination papers subscribed before a Magistrate, Local Court Magistrate, Head of a Government Primary or Secondary School, Principal of a College, Commissioner for Oaths, Election Officer or returning officer.

“Candidates for the Parliamentary by-election in Kabwata Constituency, should take along with them fifteen supporters who must have a Green National Registration Cards and Voters Cards,”she said.
She noted that male aspiring candidates for the Parliamentary by-election should pay Fifteen Thousand Kwacha while female and youth aspiring candidates are expected to pay Thirteen Thousand Five Hundred Kwacha non-refundable election fee.

“Aspiring candidates in the Local Government ward by-elections should have nine supporters who must be registered voters. Male aspiring candidates will be required to pay Six Hundred Kwacha, non-refundable nomination fee,” read the statement in part.

She further said female and Youth Aspiring candidates in the Local Government ward by-election are expected to pay Five Hundred Kwacha non-refundable nomination fee.