29 PF members file for Lusaka Mayoral seat

Twenty nine (29) PF members have filed for vacant Lusaka mayoral seat for possible adoption.

Of the 29 candidates, only three are female candidates.

Two of which are new entrants namely Pamela Chipongwe and Deborah Mwale plus the current Lusaka Deputy Mayor Chitangala Chilando representing 10.34%.

The rest are male candidates and the majority is coming from Mandevu constituency with nine candidates filing for the vacant seat representing 31%.

Both Kabwata and Lusaka Central constituencies have six candidates apiece representing 20.67%.

Munali has four (13.79%) while Matero has two (6.9%) candidates vying for the seat which fall vacant following the death of PF Lusaka Mayor Wilson Kalumba.

The former Deputy Minister of Commerce Miles Sampa and former State House Minister Mulenga Sata who rejoined PF yesterday are among the heavy weight contenders.

Former PF Media Director Brian Hapunda and late President Michael Sata’s favourite Munir Zulu are also in the race.

The rest are Fisho Mwale, Balaam Mwila, Patrick Mwansa, Yosi Miti, Simon Mapulanga, Triper Ngandu, Daniel Chisenga, Horace Longwe, Humphrey Musonda, Gabriel Kabombwe, Gift Kasaro, Francis Muchemwa and Ceasar Banda.

Others are Chileshe Chilela, Crispin Kabole, Erasmus Chendela, Christopher Shakafuswa, Bruce Ernest, Franklin Sikazwe, Clement Tembo and Kumbukilani Phiri.

The Independent Observer

John Sakala is a Journalist yearning for independent journalism

Related Articles

Back to top button
Hide picture